Keen on Quinoa

I have been on a quest for healthy eating and new ideas. I have found out so far that I love quinoa. It can make any vegetable taste better! I have made it a few times randomly and it was only meh, but now let me explain how I make this new staple item in my refrigerator.

Dice and saute onion in a pan with a little olive oil. As the onion is browning, get out the quinoa. I usually do a cup of quinoa and that should last a few days. Add it to the onion and stir. This will roast the quinoa, giving it a nice nutty flavor when cooked, and the onion will also add a tasty flare. Then add the water. Remember, quinoa, like rice, is a 2:1 ratio. So add 2x the amount of water to however much quinoa you added. Add your spices. (I do the basics: salt, pepper, and garlic – but feel free to use whatever you like!)  Bring it to a boil. Then lower it and cover. And voila!  20 mintes later, you will have a nice fluffy, healthy and fiberous grain!

A nice light meal

I have been sauteing spinach. Yes, it took me a while to love it (which I do now) but adding the quinoa to it alleviates the boring soggy bites. It adds texture and crunch. Just wash and chop some spinach (you can even sautee diced onion before hand), add to a warm olive oil coated pan, add salt and pepper and stir untill spinach is cooked. Spinach shrinks fast. So this is a great way to get a lot of greens in your system.

Then I have been adding another family staple. String beans in tomato sauce. I have loved these even as a child. Again, with the onion. Dice it and saute in a little olive oil. Add tomato sauce, salt, pepper, garlic and green beans, either fresh or frozen, both will work just fine. Stir together and let it sit on medium low for 40 minutes to cook. You will know they are done when they turn a deep green. These should be made first since they take the longest.

Also, I had some sweet potatoes in the fridge that sounded amazing to me. I am a sucker for sweet potatoes. See? I have a huge sweet tooth. I chopped them into pieces, sprayed them with a little olive oil, and added salt and pepper. These should go in the oven on 400 degrees for 15 minutes. Take them out and turn them over so they will cook evenly for another 5 minutes.

Add a little chicken, fish or egg for protein allowing you to have a complete meal.

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

