The Best Banana Cake Ever

Ok, so I have been out of town the past week in nyc attending  a few  life cycle events, visiting friends and family and doing a bit of work. I really just got home last night, and boy, could I not stop thinking about you while I was away. Nevertheless, I had to grocery shop, clean out the fridge, and toss the bananas.

NO! Don’t ever toss out bananas! Bananas are like gold when cooking. You can use them as an oil substitute because bananas are great moisture makers. You can also make any type of banana treat under the sun (depending on how many rotten bananas you have!) Remember, the older and browner they are, the sweeter they are, allowing whatever you make to be sweet and moist.

I have a few alternative flours on hand, and decided to use those. I have never really used some of these ingredients but did some research to see how they work and what they are actually replacing. Somehow, I got it right because this is literally the best banana treat I have ever made. And it doesn’t even have flour or sugar. This recipe is gluten-free.

Best Banana Cake Ever:

2 eggs

Moist and Delicious! I added just a few chocolate chips!

1 tsp of vanilla extract
1/4 cup olive oil
2 bananas (overly ripe and mashed well with a fork)
1/2 cup of apple sauce **
1/2 cup of Vermont maple syrup
1 cup garbanzo flour
1/2 cup quinoa flour
1 tsp of xantham gum
1 tsp of tapioca flour
1/2 tsp of baking powder
1/2 tsp of baking soda
1 tsp of cinnamon
pinch of salt
3/4 cup of chocolate chips, (optional)

**I did not have apple sauce, but I had apples. So I skinned the apple and boiled it beforehand  for 20 minutes, drained it and mashed it. I think this was the magic touch to this cake.

Preheat oven to 350 degrees, and spray a loaf pan, 9×5 inches.

In a mixer, beat the eggs and syrup on high for 5-6 minutes until nice and creamy. In the meantime mix the flours, xanthum gum, baking powder, baking soda, cinnamon and salt together in a separate bowl. Then lower the mixer speed and add the vanilla extract, olive oil, apple sauce, and mashed bananas. Mix well.

Add the dry ingredients and chocolate, if you choose to use it. Mix gently.

Transfer to pan and bake it for 40 minutes or until middle seems fully cooked.

Enjoy!

One comment on “The Best Banana Cake Ever

  1. Jessica says:

    This sounds amazing. Are we able to order these from you? if so, I want the details!!!!

Leave a Reply

