Thumbprint Cookies

Ok, I’m so happy to be back and baking! So, from the last time I wrote I got pregnant, moved to San Francisco for the summer then back to Portland, had baby, home with baby AND husband has finished law school and is currently studying for the bar. Whew!! This year has been, in the words of Rachel Zoe, so major. (Yes, I just quoted RZ, dont judge!)

Anyway, yummy delicious will be 8 months on Friday and we have kind of picked up a nice routine (for now – changes all the time). My husband made a comment the other day about how I used to have healthy sweet treats in the house all time and that he really missed that. Alas, I modified this great recipe for the perfect cookie. The best thing about it is you can put anything in the middle. If you have all the ingredients on hand, it really is so quick and simple.

Image

Recipe:

1 cup whole almonds

1 cup oat flour

1 cup coconut flour

1/3 cup maple syrup

1/2 cup coconut oil (You can also use applesauce as oil substitute, I didn’t have any)

1 tsp vanilla

1 tsp salt

2T milk (i used almond milk)

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

Finely ground your almonds to a flour like consistency (or use almond meal, I have a bulk size bag of raw almonds that I wanted to use) Add the rest of the flours, then add your wet ingredients to the dry ingredients and mix together to form dough. Then on a lightly greased cookie sheet or lined with parchment, roll dough into balls. I fit 12 on each sheet. Gently press your thumb in each ball and then add filling of your choice. I used a delicious raspberry jam from my wonderful mother in law!

Bake for about 13 minutes.

These cookies came out delicious. I really love cookies. There is nothing like a cookie with my tea or coffee any time of the day!

2 comments on “Thumbprint Cookies

  1. Jess says:

    Yummy1 I can’t wait to try this out!

  2. Oh…. yes… yes… yesssssssssssss

Leave a Reply

