Coconut Flour & Oil: Why is it good for me and where do I get it?

I am pleased to see the amount of love for the Almond Joy Brownies!

I noticed that there are many questions about where to find coconut flour and coconut oil. Most grocery stores carry both. Definitely Whole Foods and Trader Joe’s. If you’re not looking for it, you’ll never see it.

I promise you, you’ll see it now at the grocery.

I used Bob’s Red Mill Coconut Flour. It was found in the aisle with all of their products. No matter how big or small the selection the store has, it is almost always available if they carry this brand. Let me just tell you about some of the healthy benefits of this stuff. Coconut flour is a great alternative gluten free flour. It’s full of fiber – in fact its  composed of a whopping 58% of dietary fiber and has very few carbs (less than some veggies!) Also, it has way more protein in it than other common flours.

A great alternative flour. Perfect for sweets.

 

As for the coconut oil, it is fabulous for your immune system and boosts your metabolism! Plus, it is know to keep your hair shiny and your skin young.

The oil can be found in the same proximity, usually, to the alternative flours. It comes in a jar and I have only seen it in solid form. When I bake with it, I usually melt it and take the amount I need, and store the rest separately. It has a light sweet taste and smells like Hawaii.

I love Spectrum brand oil, but any will do!

I hope this helps and answers those questions!  Let me know if you have more.

Seriously, you should make these brownies because they are so easy and delicious!

 

One comment on “Coconut Flour & Oil: Why is it good for me and where do I get it?

  1. zuuzs is hosting a Spring Recipe Challenge and I’d like to invite you to join! It’s a great opportunity for you to promote your blog and showcase your recipe in front of thousands of people. Plus, there’s prizes including a $500 Gift Card for the Grand Prize and three $200 Gift Cards as the top Category prizes you can use to buy kitchen related wares.

    Please visit this post full contest details and how you can participate: http://www.simplystacie.net/2012/03/calling-all-cooks-join-the-zuuzs-grand-spring-recipe-challenge/

Leave a Reply

