Almond Joy Brownies

I was in the mood for gelato. There is nothing like a big scoop of chocolate next to a big a scoop of pistachio. That has to be my favorite flavor combo (that and chocolate and orange, but I wasn’t in the mood for that).

Noticing I had pistachios in the pantry, I decided to make some fudgey brownies.

Has anyone ever used coconut flour? Coconut flour, is an alternative flour, naturally sweet and high in fiber. I have had some Bob’s Red Mill coconut flour in my fridge,  and a friend recently suggested using it (Thanks, Rachel!). So with that in mind, I made my delicious Coconut Brownies. I also used Extra Virgin Coconut oil. I bought that because it has so many beneficial nutrients in it and can totally replace butter in cooking, plus, on the packaging, it blatantly stated something about beautiful people using it. A debutante is as debutante does! Beautiful, I shall be.

Crushed pistachio tops the delicious brownie

Almond Joy Brownies:
1/3 cup coconut oil
1/2 cup coconut flour
½ cup cocoa powder
6 eggs
3/4 cup honey
½ teaspoon salt
½ teaspoon vanilla
1 cup nuts, chopped (optional)

Directions:

Preheart oven to 350 degrees.

In a sauce pan, mix the oil and cocoa together. The coconut oil in the jar may come out a bit dense, I melted it and measure for a 1/3 of a cup.

Set that aside to cool and get together your flour, cocoa,and salt (dry ingredients)  and mix with honey and eggs. Then, add the chocolatey cocoa mixture from the stove. Mix together well, add nuts if you choose. ( I added pistachios).

And that’s it! Super easy and totally delicious! This batch fit perfectly in my 91/2 in 63/4 pan, or in a 1 qt. dish. For some reason, there wasn’t enough to fill a 9×13, which is what I usually make my brownies in.

I cooked it for 30 minutes, and it was done. The middle was gooey, but not ooey gooey, so I was wishing I cooked them for 20-25 minutes. If you like your brownies more dense, 30 minutes will be perfect.

DebuTips:

  • Add nuts or chocolate chips of your choice, if you’re feeling daring
  • Add shredded coconut to the batter or sprinkle on top
  • Coconut flour is very flavorful, (as well as the coconut oil) and is best used in making sweet treats
  • Feel free to double the recipe (excluding the eggs!) for a bigger crowd
14 comments on “Almond Joy Brownies

  1. Rachel says:

    Oh my gosh! I am so making these! Gonna sub out sugar for coconut nectar, though (sugar makes me break out). So excited! *running off to kitchen seriously right now*

  2. lea says:

    Does coconut flour taste like coconuts? I never tried it! I always have to go to Whole Foods after reading your blog! Love it!

  3. Mindie says:

    Look like chewy yummy brownies.

  4. purplebeet says:

    And kosher for passover!!!

  5. Aimee says:

    I love baking with coconut flour. I am so making these. Thanks!

  6. Jana says:

    I’ve never used coconut flour. Will have to get some now to try. I love Almond Joys and your brownies look yummy.

  7. yumm, love the pistachios on top, and interested in exploring coconut oil in baking. Thanks so much for sharing on craft schooling Sunday, but gotta run, I’m on a no sugar regime at the moment!

Leave a Reply

