Baked not Fried

Breaded doesn’t always mean fried. Unless, of course, you fry it. Here is a healthy twist on a traditionally unhealthy food.

Voila! I added a little lemon and capers for extra flavor

I went to the grocery and picked up some fresh cod. There are so many ways to make cod, but my husband really felt like fish and chips cod. At home I had a few pieces of bread left, almost going bad, so I needed to use it pronto. I made a homemade panko. Panko is really just baked bread crumbs. So, I put the bread in the food processor and threw crumbs in the oven for 10 minutes until nice and toasty. I also added some ground pistachios and spices into the bread crumb mix to give it extra crunch and flavor.

Now, to make the fish. Beat an egg in a bowl. That will be your dipping bowl. Place your panko mix on a dish. I always rinse the fish, I don’t know if that’s necessary, but it makes me feel better. After I rinse (just a light rinse), I dip the fish into the egg bowl, remove excess egg and then I roll it in the panko crumbs and then place it on a greased cookie sheet. Once all your pieces are ready to go, place them in the 350 degree preheated oven for 30 min. Check on them mid-way and turn over so they will cook evenly. You can also, lightly fry them in olive oil on the stove. That will be faster. Actually, that’s what i did. I needed the oven space!

Ok, next. My husband has also had a hankering for onion rings. He loves when I make these onion rings for him. It’s easy and

Baked Onion Rings

makes him so happy. Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Slice the onion into rings. Pull them apart. (I love that part because it makes a fun noise as they come undone.) Beat another egg and make a dipping bowl. Note: If you are making these for the same meal, do NOT use the same bowl. (Always keep it clean with raw fish and meats, but obvi.) Either wash it out with soap or use another bowl. Too much bacteria is floating around and has to be unsanitary. Then make a plate of your batter. If you have panko left over that will work (but not if the fish was dipped in it!), or other bread crumbs (non baked) or matzo meal. Get that together, and don’t forget to add spices. Make sure to add salt. Dip your onions in the egg and then the batter plate. Place on cookie sheet, then once they have all been dipped, place on wire rack in oven for 10 minutes. They should come out nice and crunchy. Yum.

I always try to incorporate greens with every meal. So I roasted asparagus. Make sure to wash and snap off the ends, place on cookies sheet roll them in a little olive oil and add salt and pepper. They are ready to go in the oven and bake with onion rings! They take about 15 minutes. Should all be ready at the same time.

Now, time to eat

DebuTips:

  • You can bread and bake anything that you love
  • Add different spices and spice up your dinners!
  • Add nuts or various breads to your panko or breadcrumb mixture
5 comments on “Baked not Fried

  1. Ashley says:

    Yummm this looks awesome… I’m def going to try this. One question though- how do get the breading to stick well when you just use an egg you beat? It never works very well for me! Any debutips for this, friend? :)

    • Hi Ash,
      Thank you for following! Yes, that is a common problem.

      TRY THIS:
      If you dip it in flour first, then egg, then breading it should work. The flour gives the egg something to hold on to, so your breading doesn’t slip off.

      Hope this helps, and let me know how it comes out! Xo

  2. Shane says:

    Another awesome idea. The onion rings sounds amazing and way healthier.

  3. lea says:

    Thanks VD! I am going to make this for dinner tomorrow!! Thanks for the idea!

  4. Bobby Franco says:

    Great Idea VtD, a healthy play on a classic artery-clogger!

Leave a Reply

