Stuffed Grape Leaves: Grandma, I love you, I’m sorry.

Every day this week, my husband brought home an ingredient. First, it was the rice, than it was a pound of lemons, and finally, a jar of grape leaves. Ok, I’m not that dense, I get it. He wanted  stuffed grape leaves. In our family, those are something we ration out. We take them very seriously.

I’ve never made them by myself, usually I’m helping my mom or grandma. Thanks to my grandmother’s step-by-step directions, I

This is how your station should look before you begin. Have your pyrex, leaves, and what you're going to stuff in front of you.

successfully made a batch.

What was that you say? Isn’t this supposed to be  a healthy and nutritious blog? Why, yes. See, I didn’t listen to my grandma. Shame, shame, I know, but do you want a dish that calls for a cup of oil in your kitchen? No? No, I didn’t think so.

Ok, you can go ahead a stuff the leaves with anything! If you’re a big meat eater, add ground meat. I just used brown rice and quinoa. The brown rice, quinoa and the grape leaves have a great amount of fiber, so don’t feel too guilty eating these bad boys. Add the herbs of your choice to spice it up. Then, roll it in the grape leaf. Insert finished leaves into a glass pyrex tray, add water so it covers the bottom and place in oven for 45 minutes, until rice is fully cooked.

Delicately arrange finished ones in pan

The oven should be preheated at 350.

These make  great hors d’oeuvres, if you don’t mind them being eaten. That’s up to you.

Or, you can keep them and enjoy yourself!

Inside: Ooey and gooey. Just the way I like them!

One comment on “Stuffed Grape Leaves: Grandma, I love you, I’m sorry.

Leave a Reply

